top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Amadou & Mariam – Welcome To Mali (2008)

Updated: Apr 29, 2023




Probably bought out of curiosity in a charity shop in Richmond, for a quid obviously, and I'm not sure it's ever graced the CD player.








I'm not sure what drew me to it, but it's not a combination of Western pop and African music that works for me. It's listenable background, but nothing on this, even after two listenings has stood out, and I'm struggling to find much to comment on.


This isn't a bad album, merely not what I'd hoped. I'd bought it hoping for Malian music, but I feel it's much more a pop album by a Malian duo, in which the national influences are evident and incorporated well. It's just not my thing, and not even the hand of Damon Albarn turns my ear.



2* - Quite simply, not my thing. Not sufficiently African nor experimental enough to maintain my interest.

1 view0 comments

Commenti


bottom of page