top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Ben Watt – Fever Dream (2016)

Updated: Jun 3




After reviewing Watt's 2014 album Hendra a couple of weeks ago, I had a look online for more Ben Watt product, hoping to pick up his 1980s' North Marine Drive but instead found this one, for a very reasonable price.






I’ve tried to like this album, really I have, but I’m struggling. Perhaps Hendra raised my expectations too high, but this one doesn’t have the same immediacy.

But, going for a third or fourth listen in the garden on a beautiful summer’s day might change my mind. Opener Gradually, is a strong balladic song, with Bernard Butler’s guitar to the fore, followed by Fever Dream, slow and languid but unremarkable. Between Two Fires is brighter, and a more interesting listen. Winter’s Eve is back to the slow and reflective, and a decent enough song, which does seem to grow with each hearing. By contrast, Women’s Company, which was the one that stood out first listen, seems to slip back into the rest of the album. Faces Of My Friends, however, is a livelier number and feels stronger. Running With The Front Runners feels like the perfect laidback jazz tune for a summer’s afternoon, Butler’s guitar smoothly flowing in and out of Watt’s vocals, and Never Goes Away is equally lovely. Bricks And Wood is a slushily sentimental song about revisiting one’s childhood home - and yet it works so well, just beautiful. The album ends with another wistful ballad, New Year Of Grace, a fine song.


It’s a much more reflective and gentle album that it’s predecessor, and for that reason I don’t find it as satisfying, lacking the variety of Hendra. But, it’s still a good album even if it doesn’t fully meet my tastes.



3* - if you like the gentler side of Ben Watt, this is for you, but for me it's quite single paced.

2 views0 comments

©2023 by My Ridiculous CD Collection. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page