top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Bill Nelson - Crimsworth (1995)

Updated: Apr 15, 2023






I’ve put this on with no idea what to expect. I’ve no recollection of buying it, but suspect it was charity shop / boot fair.







I was aware of Nelson from his single Do You Dream In Colour, which my brother had, and knew of him from Be Bop Deluxe in the 1970s. They seemed to be almost on the scene, a name people who liked Roxy Music quoted, which didn’t really inspire me.


This album is ambient / background / nature noises, unsurprisingly (now I look at the CD notes) commissioned to accompany an art installation and ten minutes in, it’s very relaxing. But creating an atmosphere is all it does, it doesn’t offer anything other than background. It would accompany quiet reflection in a darkened room, but it’s not a CD I’ll play often to actually listen to. And if I do, I doubt I’ll last the full hour again.

On further investigation, the two half hour pieces are actually identical, so it’s only half an hour I need to last.



3* - a peaceful ambient piece, but not essential listening

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page