top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Billie Holiday - Lady Day - The Very Best Of... (1997)




This is a classic purchase of mine - "I must have some Billie Holiday (or insert other great) to see what all the fuss is about." So, for a quid in a charity shop, I'm now the proud owner of the very best of Ms Holiday, backed on one track by Artie Shaw and his Orchestra.




But first, a few housekeeping bits. This is another of those CDs which on paper was issued in the 1990s, but was clearly recorded far earlier (probably 1935-1945) and will lead to the 1990s being over-represented, and secondly it's very light on detail. I do want to know who was backing the main artist, and when songs were recorded and this CD is completely devoid of any information. Sloppy production from Columbia.


But the music is lovely, if not really my taste. I've never been a great fan of the classic era of vocal jazz, but there are some great songs there, and Ms Holiday delivers them as well as anyone else I've heard. I won't list them all, but Strange Fruit is inevitably stunning, while Summertime, The Way You Look Tonight, Georgia On My Mind, All Of Me, God Bless The Child and That Ole Devil Called Love are all fantastic.


So, as an occasional pleasure, outside of my normal listening, this is great, and if I want to hear these songs, I doubt I'll find anyone delivering them better.



3* - I'm not one for easy listening, but this will always be a welcome visitor

3 views0 comments

Комментарии


bottom of page