top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Cake - Prolonging The Magic (1998)

Updated: Jul 8




I first heard Cake a couple of years earlier, when a friend lent me their previous album, Fashion Nugget, which inexplicably I don’t own. I really enjoyed that album, so a Cake CD is something I’ll pick up when I see it cheap.





Their brand of country influenced Americana is exactly the sort of thing I’d normally walk a significant distance to avoid, but I do find that the influences (disco bass, Mariachi trumpet, intelligent lyrics) far beyond the expected, make them an engaging listen, and this album doesn’t disappoint.

No absolute stand outs (Never There, Sheep Go To Heaven, Hem of Your Garment get honourable mentions) but no stinkers, either. Just 45 minutes of 3 to 4 minute interesting pop songs. And that’s not a bad thing.

I hadn’t listened to this for years, and I really enjoyed it. And I think that’s the point of the exercise.



4* - a really cheering reminder.

5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page