top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Carter The Unstoppable Sex Machine - 1992: The Love Album (1992)

Updated: Apr 21, 2023





Carter USM were a band who seemed to appear from nowhere in the early 1990s, and return there just as quickly. This, their no 1 album (yes, really!) was definitely a quid at a boot fair, its insert booklet looking 'well loved'






Starting with 1993, a lively instrumental, Is Wrestling Fixed follows quickly and blandly before the top 10 single The Only Living Boy In New Cross bursts brightly upon is. Both have a quiet opening before bass and drums kick in, and Jim Bob's vocals get gradually louder and more frantic. Suppose You Gave A Funeral, on the other hand, starts loud, but still sounds very familiar already, while England reverts to the previous formula. And, I'm afraid, the songs on the album are very similar throughout, although there's a rousing version of The Impossible Dream to finish.


I think I like Carter USM much more than I like their music, which quickly becomes predictable. I like the use of some clever wordplay, but to often it's hard to make out and doesn't seem to go anywhere.



2* - Disappointing. I wanted to like this far more than I actually did.

9 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page