top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Chet Baker - My Funny Valentine (2008)

Updated: Apr 29, 2023



I knew little of Chet Baker until his trumpet solo on Elvis Costello's Shipbuilding, but as I came to listen to more jazz, he was a name that kept cropping up, so I picked up this 2CD compilation of recordings from the 1950s (issued 20 years after his death) for nor many pounds when I saw it. Fopp in Cambridge if I remember correctly.



CD1 is entitled Chet Baker Sings (the track order matches the 1956 reissue of the 1954 album of that name) and what quickly becomes apparent is that Baker was possessed of the archetypal 'smooth jazz' voice. This set of standards is a lovely listen, even if there's nothing groundbreaking. My standouts include That Old Feeling, Like Someone In Love (which I knew from Bjork's version) and some lovely trumpet on There Will Never Be Another You.


CD 2 headed up Playboys (the first seven tracks consisting of the album of the same name with Art Pepper). It's a lovely 1950s jazz sound with Phil Urso and Pepper's saxes taking the lead without being remarkable, with plenty of room for a couple of Baker trumpet solos - tuneful and flowing, without ever being anything special. The remainder of the tracks date from 1953, and feature Baker's trumpet with greater prominence, showing his versatility and skill far better than in the band with Art Pepper.


I'm not sure, after listening to these two discs that I need another Chet Baker album - I suspect this compilation amply showcases his voice and trumpet, but I'm prepared to be proven wrong.




3* - a lovely compilation, showing both sides of Chet Baker. Very listenable, without producing anything stunning.










9 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page