top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

David Holmes - Bow Down To The Exit Sign (2000)

Updated: Jul 8, 2023


I suspect the reason I rescued this album from a charity shop, for exchange of a single coin, was my impression of Holmes as a pop musician with a film-score pedigree, like Barry Adamson, whose work I enjoy.

I also remember borrowing one of Holmes' albums from the library in the 1990s, and finding it OK, however, I'm now doubting of this disc has ever graced the CD deck.



And I have to say, that after two listens, my impressions aren't positive. Firstly, the half dozen spoken soundtrack pieces are an irritant, for me adding nothing. And, I've found nothing to enjoy in any of the songs. Carl Hancock guests on Compared To What, funky, but uninspired. Bobby Gillespie's contributions on Sick City and Slip Your Skin, certainly wouldn't have graced Primal Scream's most lacklustre moments (of which there are many), and Jon Spencer delivers some tedious overwrought angst in Bad Thing.


I'm afraid this CD has little to offer this listener and will be back in the charity shop before the week is up. But if you want to check it out...



1* - very disappointing. Uninspired and dull.



1 view0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page