top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

David Rees-Williams Trio – Hidden Colours (2002)

Updated: Mar 19



I've never really liked classical music as a genre (yes, I know the term classical music is as broad a term as music). I've never liked the sound of the orchestra, and find full pieces don't move me, and sneer at pop/rock musicians who want to perform orchestral versions of their music.






The first record player came into our house when I was 11, and uncovered a love (obsession?) of classical music in my dad that I hadn't previously been aware of. Radio in the house had been BBC2 or 4 (or 1 if I got hold of it), so I wasn't sure where it came from. Dad and I never really found any common ground in music, I suspect a lot of it intransigence on both our parts, but perhaps, later in his life, this was one album I copied for him and we both enjoyed.


David Rees-Williams is a pianist based in Canterbury, who has made several albums arranging classical pieces for his trio, with Neil Francis on bass guitar and Phil Laslett on drums. I first heard their work on a compilation album from Radio 3's Late Junction which was an interesting mix of contemporary classical and popular music, and we saw them play a lovely set in the Deal Music Festival a few years ago.


This album is a selection of short pieces, all eminently listenable and enjoyable, often done in a Jacques Loussier manner, but not necessarily that style. It would be very repetitive if I tried to analyse this piece by piece, but my stand outs are the two Purcell pieces Music For A While, and When I Am Laid In Earth, Ravel's Sonatine II, Grieg's Notturno and a very jazzed-up version of Debussy's The Snow Is Dancing.


It's not groundbreaking stuff, but it is a very pleasant listen, and I'd heartily recommend turning your ears to the DRW Trio given a chance.



3* - some very nice jazz style classics for piano


3 views0 comments

Komentáře


bottom of page