top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Depeche Mode - Exciter (2001)


Ever since the early singles in the 1980s, Depeche Mode are a band I felt I ought to investigate further, so when a donation of a number of DM albums came into the charity shop recently, I bought a couple of them at a fair price to try to sample the band's wares. I have to confess that so far I'm feeling lukewarm, so lets see if this 2001 release changes my mind.




And from the off, this is far more interesting than the last Depeche Mode album I listened to. Opening track Dream On is minimal, simple and effective, then there's the average Shine before the darker, more threatening The Sweetest Condition, a mood matched in the dark and dirty The Dead Of Night. A gently ambient instrumental break (Lovetheme) takes us to the second half, and the catchy ballad Free Love, which really makes an impression. I Feel Love is more upbeat, then the moody Easy Tiger, before a couple of disposable but listenable songs take us to the end.

I've enjoyed this album, without really being blown away by anything, but I'll certainly revisit it from time to time, and look forward to further explorations in the strange world of Depeche Mode.



3* - an interesting slice of pop electronica.





3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page