top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Elbow - Build A Rocket Boys! (2011)



I was aware of Elbow as a band without hearing them until listening on 6Music and Marc Riley played The Birds from this album. It sounded very 'new prog' to me and tempted me to investigate further. I downloaded the album (possibly illegally), enjoyed it, and picked it up when I saw it cheap somewhere. I haven't listened to it for some years, so I'm not sure what I'm expecting.


Opening with the aforementioned The Birds, a long song made up of a number of parts and I enjoyed it. Powerful without overpowering. Then the minimal Lippy Kids a song of optimism about youth, well delivered, and With Love is also uncharacteristically (so I'm led to believe of Elbow) optimistic and joyful. Following that Neat Little Rows and Jesus Is A Rochdale Girl are listenable, but fairly dull. The Night Will Win, however is a whiny lament which seems to go on forever (actually 4m 24s) and I'm desperate for something a little more lively. High Ideals does its best to deliver that, until Guy garvey's vocals kick in, dampening any expectations of glee. The River is another maudlin song, but with a certain charm, while Open Arms is a little brighter with an infectious chorus and a rousing climax. Taking us to a conclusion, we have a puzzling reprise of The Bird sung by an elderly friend of Garvey before the final track Dear Friends, a gentle finish, sentimental without getting too twee.


I like Guy Garvey. I enjoy his radio programme and he seems like a top bloke. But I did hear someone refer to Elbow's ability to suck all the joy out of music, and on listening to other albums, I totally get that sentiment. Even on this album, there are hints of that, but ultimately, there's more good than bad.



3* - I didn't enjoy this as much as I expected, but there are some lovely moments.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page