top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Electric River - Radio No Go! (2008)


Back in 2010, I went with some friends to the Lounge On The Farm Festival for the day, and met up with my daughter and her friends who were doing the whole weekend. I insisted we left Arthur Brown's set early to catch The Television Personalities on a different stage. This was a mistake. The Television Personalities delivered the worst gig performance I have ever seen (and I've seen Journey, Foreigner and the Ukelele Bandits).


It did mean we were in a good spot (OK, a three quarters empty cowshed) to catch Electric River, a London band I'd never heard of, but for whom two of daughter's friends were providing sax and trumpet, and they played a really enjoyable set.

Ten years on, I stumble across an Electric River CD (their debut) for a quid, and have to buy it.


I've approached this with some trepidation, but honestly, it's not at all bad. Starting disappointingly with a 'dial turning through the airwaves', the title track Radio No Go rocks into life, with a guitar riff reminiscent of Another Girl Another Planet, and I'm thinking "I bet these young fellers have listened to the Clash". Big Mistake is another fine tune, with an inexplicable spoken word section at the end, leading to A Raga For The Drunks, a lively rock number. And that's what you get from Electric River, a series of very listenable rock songs, none of which are actual bangers.


It's a decent enough album, but nothing than distinguishes them from lots of other competent rock bands. I'm sure I'll listen again some time.


3* - an easy rock listen, but not much that stays in my head afterwards

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page