top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Gang Of Four - Entertainment! (1979)


I bought this album at the time, and while I enjoyed it, I found subsequent albums more satisfying. I'm not sure the raw, jagged songs on this album really resonated with me, and the nineteen year old me found this album difficult.

I've been a frequent visitor to it since, but have only now picked it up on CD, yet another fatal combination of dull TV, beer and EBay.



Familiarity with these songs, makes listening very different to hearing it forty years ago. Ether sets the scene - political, discordant guitar, dual vocals, pounding bass - trademark Gang Of Four. And that's the formula, which mostly works very well, with obviously some songs being more memorable than others. Not Great Men is a fine song, and Damaged Goods also fantastic (check out the IDLES cover version!).

But, to my ears, it's the more melodic songs which are the most successful. I Found That Essence Rare captures the anger of the band, while still having a catchy chorus. But there's something of a lull and it's not until the single At Home He's A Tourist that the album again comes to life, with a solid run to the end of the original album, ending in 5.45 and Anthrax.


The CD version also adds the two singles, Outside The Trains Don't Run On Time and He'd Send In The Army , both fantastic songs but both also on the following album, Solid Gold.


I think this album is important, because it lays the groundwork for what followed, and the rawness of it influenced so many later, but it's not unrelenting greatness. Where it works, it's fantastic, but there are dips.



3* - a good debut, but there's real greatness to follow.




5 views0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page