top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Glasvegas - Glasvegas (2011)





This is one of those bands whose name attracted me, and after hearing a couple of songs on 6Music, I was left with a favourable impression, so risking a quid in a charity shop wasn't too much of a gamble.






The initial impression from opening track, Flowers and Football Tops, is that it's a big sound (almost Spectoresque) making a grand statement, with a decent enough three minute song, that they somehow drag out to seven, including an outbreak of You Are My Sunshine. Geraldine is much more satisfying, musically and lyrically interesting, not outstaying its welcome, and the same goes for It's My Own Cheating Heart. But by Lonesome Swan, another full sounding, slowish indie guitar-driven song, I'm looking for a bit of variety. Go Square Go feels a little more angular and upbeat musically (if not in the lyrics) and Polmont On My Mind is a reasonable song. Daddy's Gone feels a little cloying and over-sentimental, while Stabbed, spoken word over a Beethoven piano piece a little self-indulgent. And the album continues to disappoint - S.A.D Light is slower, and not dissimilar to what's gone before, and final track Ice Cream Van is a bit of a dirge, heartfelt but unsatisfying to these ears.


After a second listen, I was, if anything, less convinced by this album, which, for all the heart and soul ploughed into it, really isn't for me.



2* - I'm afraid that to me, the big sound production overwhelmed the charm of some of the songs.

1 view0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page