top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Grid - Music For Dancing (1995)


I first heard Grid on Real World's A Week In The Real World and really enjoyed what I heard, so felt comfortable taking a punt on seeing this when I found it cheap in a charity shop.

For context, this ought not to appeal to me. I'm a hardened non-dancer, and even in the crazy days thirty years ago, as a much younger man, I saw little fun in dancing or the new beats of the time.


But you write off a genre at your peril, and there's some nice stuff here. Opening song Floatation is lovely, with some groovy sax, and above the beats, there's an infectious tune to Crystal Clear. But the next few just feel like generic dance beats - probably brilliant if you're E'd up surrounded by flashing lights, but after a while quite irritating if you're not. Diabolo works well with a nice mariachi trumpet theme, and final track Rollercoaster is a gentle ambient finish, but we've had to go through a lot of very ordinary stuff to get from the start to here.


So, as not a dance fan, I've found enough to keep my interest for at least half this album, and nothing that had ne reaching for shuffle.



3* - just, because there's enough to make me take this off the shelf again


3 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page