top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Jah Wobble's Invaders of the Heart - Take Me To God (1994)

Updated: Apr 16, 2023



I had wondered why Glastonbury 1994 made such an impression on me, and on looking it up, it was the first one which was extensively televised.

Among the sets which really chimed with me, was Jah Wobble's. I knew of him as original PIL bassist, but nothing else. A friend bought the album, did me a tape, and I listened to it throughout that summer.




So, it's an album I associate with a summer, which always makes things sound better. Nearly thirty years later, in February, how's it holding up?


Obviously it opens up with a bass riff, God In The Beginning, moving seamlessly into Becoming More Like God, almost autobiographical lyrically - a stirring start. After than, the album becomes very 'world' with Hispanic, North African, reggae and dub pieces before Wobble himself returns on vocals in the title track. All these are pleasant and listenable, but don't have the impact of the opening two songs.

That changes with The Sun Does Rise, a lovely song sung by the late Dolores O'Riordan. When The Storm Comes is a pleasant song sung by Natacha Atlas, but it's then back to Wobble, speaking his way through a simple accompaniment on I Love Everybody and it sounds great. It's more Wobble vocals for the next couple then some fantastic jazz trumpet from Harry Beckett on I Am The Music. Angels is a bit nothing, but Wobble's sprechgesang on No Change Is Sexy resurrects the feel of I Love Everybody. But neither of the two tracks at the end of the album really live up to this.

As a whole, I think this is a great album - more good stuff than filler, and some excellent pieces, to my ears the better ones where Wobble takes on his own vocals, rather than bringing in guests.




4* - Jah Wobble blends his bass and vocals with world themes, mostly successfully.




0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page