top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Jah Wobble & The Modern Jazz Ensemble - 7 (2011)

Updated: Apr 27, 2023




I've long enjoyed Jah Wobble's diverse body of work, and thanks to his relentless gigging in smaller venues, I've seen him several times over the last 25 years. I've also picked up many of his albums, mostly cheaply in sales and charity shops.






But this one was sought out - the combination of Wobble and Modern Jazz sounding irresistible to me. It's a pleasant album, of mostly flute and trumpet type jazz, much of it sounding right for soundtracking a low budget 1960s British spy drama. It's well executed, and all underpinned with Wobble's thumping bassline. My standout tunes are the first and last tracks, West End and 7, slightly different versions of the same basic theme. It's an easy listen, nothing elaborate or cutting edge, just pleasant.




3* - a fine, easy toe tapping jazz album, with some great trumpet work

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page