top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Jeff Beck - Wired (1976)

Updated: Apr 29, 2023


Obviously, I knew Hi Ho Silver Lining, but was there more to Jeff Beck than that? For years I'd had a cassette with a track of Beck and Jan Hammer that John Peel had played on his show , and was aware of this album as a minor hit. So when I saw it cheap, I snapped it up. I haven't played it much but seem to remember I enjoyed it when I did, so here's a reminder to remember Beck, who died earlier this year.



Led Boots opens - a typical 1970s jazz-rock number, with a heavy guitar feel, then Come Dancing (one of four tracks on the album written by drummer Narada Michael Walden, ex-Mahavishnu Orchestra) moves into a more orthodox jazz feel. Goodbye Pork Pie Hat is a guitar led version of the Charles Mingus standard, slow and pleasant, then Head For Backstage Pass is a short, funky, bass heavy (written by bassist Wilbur Bascombe) number. Jan Hammer contributes Blue Wind, unsurprisingly synth heavy, then the lovely Sophie, much slower, the guitar theme building to a crescendo. The album ends with Play With Me and Love Is Green, both pleasant jazz pieces, but not special.


It's been a pleasant listen, but not too inspiring.



3* - some quite interesting and exciting moments, but much that's just jazz rock noodling.

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page