top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

John Coltrane – Giant Steps (1960)





The final one from the 'Oundle Purchase', and we're on safer ground with the saxophone maestro himself.

This album, from 1960, was Coltrane's first album consisting entirely of self-penned tunes, and it's a pleasant, enjoyable listen.




We open with Giant Steps and Cousin Mary, two very smooth, listenable pieces, with some fine piano from Tommy Flanagan on the latter. There's a wholly unnecessary drum solo (tautology alert!) to open the shorter Countdown, but it quickly ends and there's some much more free playing here. Spiral and Syreeda's Song Flute are relaxed pieces where Coltrane just lets it all flow, before the slower Naima almost lulls us into slumber before the excitement of the final upbeat number, the lovely Mr. P.C.


I've always enjoyed Coltrane's work, even if I don't revere him as some do, However, I wasn't around at the time, so I don't know if I can really see how innovative he seemed at the time. This album certainly contains some lovely tunes, and an occasional nod to the freer world of Ornette Coleman. It's only ticked my 'really good' box so far, perhaps revisiting it might change that.



3* - a lovely album, and one I'd recommend as a first step into Coltrane

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page