top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

John Martyn - One World (1977)

Updated: Nov 19, 2023



In 1977, listening to John Martyn albums would have been very low on my to-do list, and it would be many years before I heard anything by him. But after hearing Solid Air and a couple of other bits, it became apparent that Martyn was worth checking out. I've no recollection of buying this CD, nor of listening to it before this exercise.



I'm on my third listen now, with some idea what to expect. Opening with the upbeat, even funky Dealer, heavy with reverb, Martyn's trademark drawl sets the tone. One World follows, a slow, rambling, lovely piece, then Smiling Stranger is more bluesy, but good. Big Muff has an interesting electronic arrangement, but isn't strong, and Couldn't Love You More similarly drags a bit. However, Certain Surprise brightens proceedings a little, a lovely simple song. Dancing is pleasant, but no more, and final track Small Hours ends with a long, slow, mellow instrumental intro before a short gentle song and a long atmospheric run out, which feels like it outstays its welcome.


This is a decent enough album, with plenty to like. I can't claim it's really my type of thing but I'll certainly re-visit.



3* - not really my thing, but some lovely pieces here, if at times a little self-indulgent.

1 view0 comments

留言


bottom of page