top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Led Bib - Sensible Shoes (2009)

Updated: Apr 27, 2023


I'd never heard of Led Bib until this album was nominated for the Mercury Music Prize '(left-field no chance of winning but nominated to show they look beyond chart pop' nomination), and I enjoyed the cacophony when the radio felt compelled to play something from the album. So, off I went to my local CD emporium, bought it, and to be honest, I've hardly listened since.



But not because there's anything wrong with it, more that I just forgot I had it. So, a long overdue listen is currently happening, and I'm enjoying what I'm hearing. It's not an easy listen, having something of a free jazz electric sound, interspersed with some great tunes, occasionally in orthodox keys. While not everything works, this album has plenty to enjoy - sonic mayhem generated by two saxes and frantic drumming (Yes, Again), some lovely tunes (Zone 4), excitable keyboards (Sweet Chilli), and ethereal minimalism (2.4:1 Still Equals None).


I don't listen to this often enough, and really ought to investigate Led Bib further.



4* - some fantastic modern British jazz, really enjoyable

4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page