top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Miles Davis - Porgy & Bess (1959)





Davis' interpretation of Gershwin's Porgy & Bess was one of the first Davis albums I bought, and is one I haven't listened to as much as other favourites.





Listening to it now, I'm finding it difficult to write too much about it. it feels, at first, much more restrained than many of Davis' own compositions, but the band seem to let rip on Gone, the only original composition (by Gil Evans, arranger, conductor and long time collaborator), which gives Davis more room to play than most of the Gershwin material, although the instantly recognisable Summertime is given an interesting treatment. Halfway through, my feeling is that this has been lovely background, yet without anything memorable jumping out at me. It Ain't Necessarily So, though, makes me sit up and listen, as does the final song from the original LP, There's A Boat That's Leaving Soon For New York.

But the overriding feeling is 'nice' when I've come to expect 'stunningly brilliant' from Miles Davis. Nevertheless, it's a good listen than I'll return to from time to time.



3* - anything less than brilliance from Davis feels like disappointment - this is merely a fine listen.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page