top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Mogwai - Young Team (1997)

Updated: Apr 21, 2023



I'm a big fan of Japanese author, Haruki Murakami. The strange thing I find about his books is that while I really enjoy reading them, and find the narrative straightforward to follow while reading, I often don't remember the plot afterwards.

In music, I feel the same about Mogwai. When I listen, I really enjoy listening, but nothing seems to stick.



Perpetually behind the times, I only heard Mogwai in the last few years, and picked this, their debut album, up in a charity shop, feeling I needed to investigate further.


The combination of speech segments and moody guitar driven instrumentals really appeals to me, from the gentle introductory piece Yes I Am A Long Way From Home, to the more frantic extended Like Herod, the noise mania of Portfolio, or the almost-song R U Still In It.

And most of the album is in that vein, very listenable, enjoyable, mostly instrumental pieces with speech samples. But play one back to me later, and I won't be able to tell you which one it is.



4* - I thought longer about this than usual, and erred on the side of generosity. Despite my misgivings, I will keep coming back to this, and keep enjoying it.

6 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page