top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Nick Drake - Way To Blue - An Introduction (1994)




I knew nothing of Nick Drake beyond 'folk singer who tragically died young' in the 1970s, and never heard his music.

In the 1990s he seemed to be re-discovered and people started talking about him again, so much so that I invested in this compilation possibly paying full price. Yes, I know.




It's unusual in such a compilation, in that there's no attempt to order songs chronologically, Island preferring to seemingly randomly spread songs from Drake's three albums about the disc, which to me is more fitting for an 'introduction' (as in, now you're introduced, look further) rather than a 'best of' (which, if you don't like everything hardly invites further investigation.)


It's a lovely introduction, which I don't listen to enough. Drake's first album Five Leaves Left is represented by the lovely Cello Song, Way To Blue and River Man;

the second, Bryter Later, by the fantastic Hazey Jane I, One Of These Things First (with Paul Harris' wonderful piano arrangement) and Northern Sky, while Drake's final album, Pink Moon gives us the glorious song of the same title.

I've mentioned about half the album above, but there are other, not so immediate songs from the albums, and a couple from the outtakes album, Time Of No Reply.


I haven't yet explored Drake's output deeper - I think half of this introduction is solid gold, five-star material, and the other half is fine, so I doubt I'll be disappointed. But it does me for now.



4* - there are some lovely songs here, which are always a delight to hear.



6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page