top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan - Rapture (1997)



I've always been interested to listen to music from around the world, and often find much to enjoy, I've no recollection of buying this CD, but assume it was in the spirit of curiosity that I picked up this compilation of Nusrat's work. I had, of course, heard of him, and heard many others get excited about his music, so time to check for myself.



This is described as an "essential collection from the genius of Qawwali". Which, if you're a devotee of Qawwali music, I'm sure is true. But frankly, it's not for me.


I can't say it's bad, because I can't claim to understand it. It's probably excellent Qawwali music. But my Western ears don't seem able to relate and it all blends into one mass. It's listenable, and not an unpleasant sound, but I can't claim to enjoy it.



2* - I don't know whether I'm disappointed with the music, or myself at not understanding. But this isn't for me.






1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page