top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Oysterband – Rise Above (2002)



Folk rock (let's assume for the sake of argument there is such a genre, and it's relevant to Oysterband) has always appealed more to me from a rock perspective than a folk one.

This became apparent when I recently listened to a The Men They Couldn't Hang album (see earlier caveat) and I feel the same about Oysterband.



I saw the band about seven years ago when they headlined the Sandwich "Folk and Ale Festival" - a festival I always thought should carry a Crackerjack vibe, with audiences expected to loudly shout "Folk and Ale" when prompted. It was a good gig, a decent night out with a few beers and a good band, without threatening my "Top Ten Gigs" list.

This album appeared in my collection without me being aware of having bought it, and is very rarely played. Yet it's not a bad album. Opener The Soul's Electric is a solid, pleasant start to the album, moderately paced and listenable. Uncommercial Song is, paradoxically, more commercial and lively, as is If You Can't Be Good. Everybody's Leaving Home is more of a ballad, with a bagpipe opening, and as such, less pleasing to these ears. My Mouth ends the first half, a darker song, quite brooding, but a good listen. Shouting About Jerusalem is a powerful, imposing song, which has impact, followed by the ballad Blackwaterside, which reinforces my previous points. Title track Rise Above is pleasant without inspiring, while Wayfaring is a little more lively and toe tapping. Final track, Bright Morning Star is a traditional folk song, sung acapella and seeing the album out with appeal to the folk fans rather than the rock ones.


All in all, this isn't a bad album and I certainly wouldn't rush for the off switch if Spotify threw it my way. But there's nothing on it which really gets me moving or moved.



2* - even the rockier numbers here seem to lack the energy that Oysterband have shown at other times.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page