top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Primal Scream - XTRMNTR (2000)

Updated: Apr 26, 2023



I went through a bit of a Primal Scream phase at the turn of the century, bought this when it first came out and don't recall being over-impressed. At some point I must have fallen out of love with Primal Scream, (not before I saw them in 2003 in Liverpool - that's another story) since this CD now lives in the upstairs drawer.



First impressions are positive. Kill All Hippies rocks us into action, then Accelerator increases the speed and the decibels, and is listenable, but the 'atmospheric distortion' doesn't enhance. Exterminator and the single Swastika Eyes are high energy dance tracks, leading to Pills, a shouty rap-style rant and Blood Money, a full blooded (sorry!) instrumental, to my delicate ears a little drum heavy.

Keep Your Dreams, a more orthodox song works nicely, but Insect Royalty doesn't do a lot for me while MBV Arkestra's horns hint at something more interesting to come, while never quite delivering. There's no need for a second version of Swastika Eyes, a remix which adds nothing, although Shoot Speed/Kill Light is a loud, bright ending to the album.


XTRMNTR is feted as Primal Scream's ultimate dance album, which is probably why it doesn't really do much for me. Not really my thing, although there are a few interesting moments.



2* - While quite listenable for the most part, I'm struggling to see what will make me want to revisit.






2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page