top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Public Service Broadcasting - Inform-Educate-Entertain (2013)

Updated: Apr 27, 2023



I suspect I became aware of PSB when they performed at a 6Music Festival, and enjoyed their mix of spoken word samples and music. I really got to know them with The Space Race album, and have seen them a couple of times over the past few years, once in the illustrious setting of the Royal Albert Hall.



My copy of this album is a signed one that my daughter bought me for Christmas, obtained when she interviewed J Willgoose Esq for an Italian website. It's an enjoyable listen, but certainly feels like a first 'toe in the water' to test reaction to their unique selling point. As a result there are some fantastic pieces, while others are quite ordinary, leaving me with the feeling that PSB's music works far better in the concept album setting, than as isolated works. There are some real bangers on this album - Spitfire, Everest, Auden's Night Mail, Signal 30 - and much that's an interesting listen, such as the title track and the 'manifesto' Theme From PSB. But there's also plenty that just flows by.


Another example of a good album which feels a little sub-par when you know what follows?




3* - A bold debut, with some fine pieces, but I'm not sure this format suits the band

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page