top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Pat Metheny with Dave Holland & Roy Haynes - Question And Answer (1990)

Updated: Feb 5




I'd heard of Pat Metheny as a great guitarist, and was interested in hearing more modern jazz, so on seeing this for a quid in a charity shop, I thought I'd give it a try.








Straight into the review - this is not a bad album. Metheny's guitar playing is melodious, and masterful, and he's supported by absolutely two top notch musicians on bass and drums. It's just not really for me. It seems to contain too many elements that I really don't get on with. There seems to be a lot of noodling, virtuoso playing, which impresses in terms of technique, but doesn't really feel to have any soul. Metheny's co-stars are very democratically given their own time to solo, but for me, bass solos and drum solos are among the most uninteresting things on the planet.

I don't dislike anything I've heard here, but little makes an impression. To me, it's pleasant background with the occasional nod to "this guy can really play, can't he?"



2* - Not really something I'd choose to listen to, Clever, but not very interesting



4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page