top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Le Mystère Des Voix Bulgares - Ritual (1994)

Updated: Feb 5




When I was going through my World Music phase, trying to look cool and out of the mainstream, this was exactly the sort of thing I bought - this one, I think at a car boot sale for pennies. I might have listened to it once then, but it hasn't seen the CD deck in two decades.




From the start, it's not really my thing. The acapella songs have a Gregorian chant like feel, which works well as gentle background up to a point, but after a while begins to annoy. Similarly, the folk music instrumentals may delight aficionados of such authenticity, but I'm afraid they are wasted on my ears.


I'm not going to attempt to dissect this album track by track, because it would be a futile exercise. I'm sure this is very good in its field, but it's really not for me, and will be a delight for someone else to discover in Oxfam within the week.



1* - Absolutely not for me. Starts as acceptable background, ends as a dirge.

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page