top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Rod McKuen - Sings Jacques Brel (1992)

Updated: Apr 15, 2023




I was introduced to Jacques Brel by Scott Walker (not personally), and was aware that Rod McKuen, American (I thought he was Canadian until ten minutes ago) poet and singer songwriter, had worked with Brel to translate his songs into English. So, there seemed no risk in parting with a pound for this compilation.



It’s a pleasant listen, although I’m not convinced that McKuen had a voice which did his and Brel’s songs justice. Perhaps I’ve been spoiled by listening to Scott Walker sing these songs and Brel’s originals. But If You Go Away, Amsterdam and Les Bourgeois are always welcome, and I’ve spent far worse hours than the one spent listening to this. The album ends with Brel singing Les Amants De Coeur (from 1964), which only reinforces my opinion on McKuen’s delivery; followed by Seasons In The Sun, a far slower and darker version than the rewritten and cheered up version which was a worldwide hit for Terry Jacks.



3* - It’s always good to hear Brel’s songs, but this won’t displace the Scott Walker versions from my affection.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page