top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Ry Cooder - Crossroads (1986)

Updated: Aug 18




I was very late coming to Ry Cooder, and have still really only dipped my toes in the water. I like his more recent political stuff and was, of course, aware of his early work with Captain Beefheart. I don't remember buying this, but almost certainly paid a pound second hand somewhere.




It's the soundtrack to a 1986 film of the same name (no, me neither) inspired by the music of Robert Johnson, so there's no surprise it's very blues heavy. And while it's very listenable, nothing leaps out as remarkable.

That said, the title track, a Johnson song has a great blues sound, with Cooder's distinctive guitar playing, as does Cotton Needs Pickin'. Feelin' Bad Blues also contains some lovely guitar, while Someone's Calling My Name is a nice piece of gospel.

This probably isn't peak Cooder, or even a realistic introduction (there's a double CD compilation to come for that), but it's an easy enough listen.



3* - a solid soundtrack album, well produced and performed.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page