top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Stevie Wonder - Talking Book (1972)

Updated: Aug 20, 2023



Yet another recent charity shop purchase (we've had some decent donations this week), I thought it was time I looked deeper into Stevie Wonder's work. Sure I know and enjoy the hit singles from the 1960s and 70s but many whose views I respect speak so highly of his 1970s albums that on seeing this, I thought it was time to find out.



One thing I often find when investigating albums in this way is that the hit singles seem to stand out from the pack, and I'm never sure whether that's familiarity, or they were chosen as singles because their quality was evident; and after one listening, that's the impression I'm getting here.

We open with You Are The Sunshine Of My Life, an upbeat, pleasant song, well arranged and delivered, if a little lightweight. Maybe Your Baby is a little slower, driven along by Wonder's synth, with nice guitar work from Ray Parker Jr, but feels like a bit of a grower. Sadly, You And I is something of a wimpy ballad, while Tuesday Heartbreak, despite the despair of lost love feels brighter and far more interesting. You've Got It Bad Girl is a little bland and forgettable, but that just makes the wonderful Superstition with its distinctive repetitive clavier riff sound even better. Big Brother is pleasant, listenable, but not memorable. Blame it On The Sun is similar, a fairly anodyne ballad, as is Lookin' For Another Pure Love, taking us to the final track I Believe, which while another ballad has far more of a hook in the chorus and is a very satisfying end to the album.


I've enjoyed this album without being blown away by anything new I've heard, but as an introduction to Wonder's albums, it's made me curious to hear more.



3* - This is a decent enough listen with a couple of high points, and nothing awful.





4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page