top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Tangerine Dream - Rubycon (1975)


The Tangs (as no one ever called them) were a band that in the 1970s I thought I should like, but at the time seemed too airy-fairy ambient for my teenage tastes.

As I've aged, their sound has appealed more and this album is a recent purchase through EBay from a large second hand stockist (part of a substantial purchase - that combination of beer and EBay).



Most of this was stuff from bygone years that I'm already familiar with but never got round to buying, and I've been accumulating it faster than I can review it!


So, Rubycon. Part One has an ethereal start with percussive deep tones but after nearly seven minutes of intro, some electronic beats start the Tangerine Dream groove and a melody starts to break out. While it's a pleasant listen, I'm struggling with the absence of a hook to drag me in. Nevertheless, it's a lovely piece, with more impact on this second listen than on the initial one.

Part Two starts of with an evocative, wind like drone, bizarrely in perfect time with the ticking of the clock in the room and once again it's a prelude to a repetitive electronic theme, not dissimilar to the first part.


It's a decent listen but a lot of feels directionless. There's a couple more Tangerine Dream to come, and this one isn't, in my opinion, the best.



3* - a soothing listen without any Wow! factor.

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page