top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Tankus The Henge - Tankus The Henge (2013)

Updated: Apr 15, 2023




Definitely a quid in a charity shop, probably attracted by the name (Tankus, very similar to Tarkus, the first ELP album I heard) and the general wacky appearance from the title and layout of the CD sleeve.





Not sure what to make of it, it feels a bit cheery cockney singalong for my liking. It's not Chas and Dave, more sub-Madness, Squeeze or even a fuller sounding Carter USM. They feel like well-constructed songs, but they don't have the charm or humour of their better known counterparts.


I don't know why - there's nothing wrong with this set of songs, it's just that nothing really resonates for me. By all accounts Tankus are an excellent live band, but sometimes that live experience just doesn't translate to home listening.



2* - not a bad album, but there's something that just doesn't work for me.


4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page