top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Teenage Fanclub - Songs From Northern Britain (1999)




Teenage Fanclub completely passed me by. I don't recall ever hearing them in the past 30 years, but I'd heard enough about them to believe that a pound to the Hospice Shop recently might be a good investment on this, their 6th and most successful album.




My first reaction is that it's quite a gentle listen, almost like a more jangly version of The Byrds. Start Again is a bright opener, as is Ain't That Enough, and the jaunty guitar band stuff continues with Can't Feel My Soul. Byrds comparisons become harder to resist on I Don't Want Control Of You, then Planets is a little slower and It's A Bad World another easy to listen song. In fact, the whole album seems to be a succession of jangly, easy to enjoy songs, all a decent listen, but nothing standing out as stunningly good, or particularly poor. Winter is a feel good song, and Speed Of Light a solid conclusion.

I've enjoyed listening to this album, even if nothing here's made my go "wow!"


3* - a decent album of well crafted guitar pop songs

1 view0 comments

コメント


bottom of page