top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

The B-52's – Cosmic Thing (1989)



I didn't know I owned this album and don't remember buying it. It's not really my thing, as my daughter has just informed me with a "Why are you listening to Love Shack?" Little does she know that I was grooving to Rock Lobster ten years before this album was released.


I'm not sure I've ever listened to it, so here goes!



It's fun music. It's alive, unashamedly lively, and fun. The spoken style lyrics of Fred Schneider, alongside Kate Pierson and Cindy Wilson's singing, are an infectious sound, bouncing into life in Cosmic Thing, and the girls' vocals work nicely alongside Keith Strickland's jangly guitar in Deadbeat Club. And Love Shack sounds as good as it did 30+ years ago. Junebug and Roam rock along nicely, as does Bushfire.

But it is those I've mentioned - Schneider's idiosyncratic delivery alongside Pierson's and Wilson's vocals, which work best for me.

This was the band's first album as a four piece after the death of Ricky Wilson, and shows that the band had bounced back, with the able production assistance of Nile Rodgers and Don Was. It's enjoyable and lively, without being much more.



3* - a fun listen, even if not really my thing

10 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page