top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

The Blind Boys Of Alabama - Spirit Of The Century (2001)

Updated: Apr 29, 2023



I think I first heard the Blind Boys Of Alabama on a Real World compilation and really enjoyed what I heard, despite having had no previous interest in gospel music.

I can't remember where or when I bought this CD, but it certainly doesn't visit the inside of the CD player often enough.




Opening with a strong version of Tom Waits' Jesus Gonna Be Here, the great songs sung beautifully by the group continue for an hour. Ben Harper's Give A Man A Home is lively and lovely, and they even manage to bring to life the tired old Amazing Grace, singing it to the tune of House Of The Rising Sun, in a far more powerful and bluesy way than the traditional dirge of a tune.

Nobody's Fault But Mine is slow and graceful, a second Tom Waits number Way Down In The Hole easily up to the the original, and Motherless Child is just beautiful.


This is as good a set of songs as I've heard from the Blind Boys, just lovely.



4* - a glorious set of songs, beautifully sung and arranged by the undisputed masters of gospel music.

5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page