top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

The Doors - Waiting For The Sun (1968)

Updated: Apr 20, 2023




I grew up blissfully unaware of the Doors. Vague references to Jim’s mysterious death in the music press, and they seemed to be more of a thing by the late 1970s, as bands started to cite them as influences.








And what I’d heard (the hits) I generally liked, which explains why I’ve got a few CDs. The art of randomness throws this one up, but I’m not sure I’ve ever listened to it. And, of course, this is part of the exercise - to make sure that they all get a listen.

We start with the single, Hello I Love You, always pleasing to the ears, then we’re into unknown territory on Love Street, a singalong piece, which cheerfully occupies a couple of minutes. Not To Touch The Earth sounds more as I expect from the Doors, Morrison’s angst ridden tones over Ray Manzarak’s organ, and it’s good to hear. Summer’s Almost Gone and Wintertime Love are pleasant enough without making an impression. The Unknown Soldier seems a bit self indulgent with its marching and shouting middle section, but it doesn’t go on and makes for an interesting listen.

The second half opens with Spanish Caravan, pleasantness continuing, then the unaccompanied My Wild Love (has Nick Cave covered this? If not, he should.) Then it’s back to the more orthodox Doors sound, on We Could Be So Good Together. Yes, The River Knows leaves little impression, before we close with Five To One, a much more rocking number, with an uncharacteristic guitar solo from Robby Krieger.

This is another one that I was considering more as a chore that with anxious anticipation, and I’ve been pleasantly surprised how much I’ve enjoyed it.



3* - no massive stand outs, but a consistently interesting listen.

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page