top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

The Golden Palominos - The Golden Palominos (1983)

Updated: Apr 16, 2023



I heard an Arto Lindsay song on Radio 3's Late Junction about 20 years ago, and kept my eyes open for his work. Finding this in a charity shop I was delighted to discover many more names I already knew - Fred Frith, Bill Laswell and Anton Fier (who I discovered in researching this, sadly underwent an assisted suicide last year).




The album starts with Clean Plate, a funk driven piece with a melodic theme, reminiscent of Talking Heads' work with Brian Eno, followed by the far more percussive Hot Seat and Under The Cap. These two tracks are much more 'experimental' but an interesting listen nevertheless. The second half continues in the same vein - percussive bass driven numbers ending with the toe-tapping Two-Sided Fist. I'm really not sure why this has been relegated from the shelves to the drawers upstairs - perhaps it's time to restore it!



3* - an interesting listen, which I think I'll get more out of with each spin.

8 views0 comments

Opmerkingen


bottom of page