top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

The Smiths - The Smiths (1984)

Updated: Apr 21, 2023




Another recurring theme (apart from 'quid in a charity shop') is that what sounded new and exciting at the time can look quite ordinary in the light of later work.







Enthusiastically bought on vinyl at the time and eagerly anticipated after hearing This Charming Man, The Smiths' debut is one I rarely listen to these days. Indeed, I find it difficult to separate the recent persona of Morrissey as an easily offended sulkmaster and admirer of far-right terrorists, from The Smiths' music.


Starting with the dour, yet compelling Reel Around The Fountain, it's on You've Got Everything Now that the trademark Johnny Marr guitar becomes evident and welcome. Miserable Lie sounds tired, but Pretty Girls Make Graves has held up well, as has The Hand That Rocks The Cradle, a gentle tune carried by an infectious Marr riff.

Still Ill starts the second half, a standard Smiths' song, then Hand In Glove, and I'm finding the conflict between Marr's bright jangly guitar and Morrissey's whining difficult. What Difference Does It Make is brighter, a strong riff driving the song. I Don't Owe You Anything is more laid back, but dull, with the dark Suffer Little Children ending the album - again, Marr's lovely guitar at odds with the subject matter - but this has aged better than I expected.


My feelings are very mixed at this point. It's an album I loved 40 years ago, but I hear the flaws more clearly now. And try as I might, what Morrissey has revealed of himself since inevitably colours everything.



3* - Possibly a landmark debut, but there was far better to come.



7 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page