top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

The Teardrop Explodes - Kilimanjaro (1980)

Updated: Apr 21, 2023




There was a thriving music scene in Liverpool in the late 1970s based around Eric's Club, a scene I wasn't really aware of and if I had it would probably have scared me. Buying records at Probe was daunting enough. So, I never actually saw The Teardrop Explodes.




To my shame, I missed a 1980 gig featuring Echo and the Bunnymen, Teardrop Explodes and Wah! Heat while in Sheffield, because my then girlfriend had got us tickets to see TV musical comedian Richard Stilgoe the same night. We didn't last much longer.


But this debut, which I seem to remember was long awaited, still sounds great. The distinctive horn sound from their hits leads us in with Ha Ha I'm Drowning, then Sleeping Gas has the forceful repetitive beat, which will be familiar from dreams to those victims of 1960s dentistry. The hit single Treason follows, still sounding fantastic, then the throwaway Second Hand. This being the CD, we next get the wonderful single Reward (not on the original LP). Bless his cotton socks, indeed.

Poppies is a pleasant listen without exciting, but Went Crazy opens up the second half with a real joyful bounce. From there, the album continues on a fairly even keel, nothing bad, nothing outstanding, ending with the band's first charting single, When I Dream.

It's an enjoyable set of songs, and a fine record of the post punk late '70s/early '80s.



4* - There are so many great debut albums from this period, and this one doesn't disappoint.

7 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page