top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

The The - Soul Mining (1983)

Updated: Apr 16, 2023



In the late 1980s CDs were expensive and it was a commercial proposition for video rental shops (remember them, kids?) to also rent out CDs - £1 for 48 hours (enough time to get it taped) as I remember, and it was via this route I first encountered The The’s Infected album.






This one sits there with a homemade cover, so I’m guessing I got it in an Our Price clearance sale - CDs without covers for £1 each, where I spent far too much money.

I haven’t listened to The The recently, put off by Matt Johnson’s trip down the anti-vax rabbit hole, but let’s put that to one side and listen to the tunes.


I’ve Been Waiting For Tomorrow starts off this post punk angry LP, before livening up with the single This Is The Day. The angst continues on That Sinking Feeling, then the tone lightens up on Uncertain Smile. So far it’s an fairly enjoyable listen, but I’m not feeling the strength of later The The albums. The second half kicks off with The Twilight Hour - more darkness and angst over a minimalist 1980s theme, then it’s the title track, Soul Mining, quieter, more laid back, but no less dark. The original album ended with the ten minute epic, Giant, which frankly goes on a bit, but this CD adds Perfect, a 12” single given away with the original LP, a pleasant throwaway number.

This is another which hasn’t really moved me, nothing wrong, but nothing that stirs me. I know there’s far better to come from The The.



3* - yet another ‘decent enough debut but…’

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page