top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

Vangelis - Mythodea (2001)

Updated: Apr 15, 2023



I’ve never been a fan of Vangelis, and I’ve no recollection of buying this, so how it appears on my shelves is a complete mystery to me. Subtitled Music For The NASA Mission 2001 Mars Odyssey. It’s released on Sony’s Classical label, so probably isn’t the electronica I no doubt assumed when I picked it up



It starts with a drone, accompanied by rocket whooshing noises, before the orchestra comes in with a rousing tune, which to me is interrupted by the vocal parts. The second movement is dull and repetitive. Let’s be clear, I’m not a great admirer of orchestral nor choral music, so this is not aimed at me, and it’s not my thing. By the fourth movement it’s got horribly operatic and over the top.


So I’m going to stop now, and save myself a further 40 minutes of music that I really don’t like.



1* - for its genre, this may be well liked, but it’s my blog and my opinion.

4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page