top of page
  • steveburnhamuk

World Party – Bang! (1993)

Updated: Mar 15


Karl Wallinger died earlier this week, far too young at 66. I'm not too familiar with his music, really only through one unconvincing Waterboys album, and an earlier World Party album Goodbye Jumbo.

I actually thought I owned that one, but on scouring the shelves, I discovered I had the later album Bang!, a quid in a charity shop, and I'm not sure it's ever been played.



After one play, I can report that it's a really good listen, a fine album of quality songs, with enough variety to keep it interesting.

Kingdom Come starts off brightly (even has me thinking it's at the wrong speed), and despite a middle section that doesn't work for me, it's a lively opening. Is It Like Today? is a summery bouncy song, really enjoyable, followed by What Is Love All About, feeling quite funky in a Jamiroquai style, and there's nothing wrong with that. And God Said is a half minute operatic interlude, which adds nothing, then Give It All Away has a Rolling Stones feel to it, straight forward rock well done, and Sooner Or Later is a little more laid back and smooth. Sooner Or Later is a lovely rocking little number, while Hollywood is more reflective and observational, and a little less interesting. Is there a Prince vibe to Radio Days? It feels unfair to just make lazy comparisons, but it's meant to suggest Wallinger's versatility, rather than suggest he was merely an imitator. It's a strong song, although not really my thing. Some nice guitar there, and also in Rescue Me, a rambling, laid back piece which flows well, without leaving a lasting impression, as does the slower balladic Sunshine. The album proper ends with the breezy All I Gave, leaving only a reprise of Give It All Away, a welcome five minutes, before the 'hidden track', after twenty minutes of silence, a Beachboys style parody called Surfin' In Kuwait City, a satirical take on the Gulf War, well executed.


I have to admit, it's the sort of poppy album which isn't really my thing, but there's an awful lot to like about this well presented set of songs. Wallinger was a talented musician and writer, and will be missed.



3* - Well worth a listen





5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page